Kattera’s Fave List – Miss Universe 2012

I write this post with such a very heavy heart 😦 The two weeks of euphoric feelings have come to an end! It was short, as short as a weekend escapade. And as my last post before a new Miss Universe is crowned, let me share to you my favorites.

This year is extra special for some reasons (1) This is the first time that the pageant is staged during the Holidays – balancing my blogging tasks with work and with holiday parties was such a feat (2) The girls (some of them) had the longest preparation because of the pageant schedule thus we are seeing topnotch performance from them this year and (3) There are handful of countries which raised their antes this year – these are the countries which fans regularly ignore but surprisingly sent competitive ladies this year. Taking into consideration these factors, I’ll be very honest with you when I say that except for a few “locked” personal favorites, I have a very fluid fave list. As I encode these words, I am still stuck with 24 ladies 😦 What is frustrating to think is the fact that if you I will base my favelist on Preliminary Performance, I will be left with around 10 ladies only. A lot of favorite girls were weak during the preliminaries BUT I also know that I can’t shut them out because they are simply breath-taking! Without further ado, here are my favorite candidates:

Photo Credits: Miss Universe Organization L.P., LLLP

Alternatives
These are the ladies that can penetrate my Top 16 anytime!!!

Turkey (Cagil Ozge Ozkul)
Turkey

I was surprised by her Preliminary performance. Solid body and solid catwalk can propel her to a semifinalist position. She has a very weak sash though which makes me hesitant.

Aruba (Liza Helder)
Aruba

Another silent killer, Liza may not be in everyone’s favorite list BUT she proved to all fans that she can handle herself among the favorites. Even her national costume was amazing – a proof that she is on the upper league!

Jamaica (Chantal Zaky)
Jamaica

I really think that the “black” delegation this year is rather weak. Probably because I am comparing each candidate to Leila’s performance last year. However, during the preliminaries, I can’t deny the fact that Jamaica sold her performance just enough to fly 🙂

Mexico (Karina Gonzalez)
Mexico

I have nothing but disappointment with Karina. Her preliminary performance was an insult. It hurts so much knowing that she can deliver way more than what my front runners can give. She is ONLY in my list because of my love for her!

Brazil (Gabriela Markus)
Brazil

Unlike Mexico, I have nothing but praises for Gabriela. She is such a wonderful woman both in pictures and videos. I will be very happy seeing her in the Top 16.

Semifinalists

16th Place: Croatia (Elizabeta Burg)
Croatia

She is in every one’s Top 5!!! But I really don’t understand the fuss especially after seeing her preliminary performance. Her walk was not even “normal”. The only reason why she is her is the fact that I can’t deny that gorgeous face. If we will only base the results on the ladies’ facial beauties then Croatia will definitely be on top!

15th Place: Czech Republic (Tereza Chlebovska)
Czech Republic

I really want her to be placed higher than this. Her face is ethereal and you all know how fond I am with wonderful piercing eyes. Her walk is competitive as well and based on her interviews, her personality shines. My concern is her body which is not really ideal with those protruding bones. Remember Miss USA last year?!?

14th Place: Australia (Renae Ayris)
Australia

If I can only push her to the top then I will. She used to be in my top 5 because I love her versatility. She is demure on stage but she can give us “hotness” if needed. My only concern, which is the reason for the placement, is her play-safe performance during the preliminaries. It was underwhelming!

13th Place: China (Ji Dan Xu)
China

A very pleasant surprise for me from China! She might be facially behind Luo Zilin (Miss Universe China 2011) but her elegance and finesse is superb. What sealed her placement was her preliminary performance which was just the right amount needed to overcome the first cut. She is also a plausible candidate as an “MUO Pick”.

12th Place: Finland (Sara Yasmina Chafak)
Finland

She was nowhere to be found in my pre-arrival list. During the first few days, she was nothing but an ordinary candidate. However, days before the preliminaries, she started to warm up. With the best timing, she grew and flew right during the preliminaries! I love how she risked her performance with the hate-it or love-it gown and the unique hairstyle BUT everything paid off with what I consider a topnotch performance.

11th Place: Georgia (Tamar Shedania)
Georgia

I am very happy for Georgia!!! They have a true gem 😀 She is priceless… Her face might not be everyone’s cup of tea BUT over-all she is a very competitive lady. Another plausible candidate as an “MUO Pick”.

Finalists

10th Place: Malaysia (Kimberley Leggett)
(My Fan Vote Winner)
Malaysia

I am very happy how Malaysia gained every fans’ love. She started as an Asian candidate with lesser expectations because of her sash. Then, I noticed her in different blogs but only because of the hype of her countrymen. Then the official pictures came out which made everyone take a second look. And her preliminary performance sealed the deal! With or without the fan vote, I think that she will revenge Deborah’s cold-blunt exclusion last year.

9th Place: Cayman Islands (Lindsay Japal)
Cayman Islands

Another surprise candidate from a rather weak sash! Year after year, Cayman Islands sends out just our regular candidate. Suddenly, just like a lightning flash, a gorgeous lady emerged as their representative. People comments that she is very raw BUT that is what I love about her! She is raw and malleable. Surprisingly, her preliminary performance was strong enough to go neck-to-neck with the favorites.

8th Place: Netherlands (Nathalie den Dekker)
Netherlands

Nathalie has a Miss World experience under her belt which is the reason why I am not surprised on her superb preliminary performance. Her body is so strong which qualifies her as a strong contender in the Best in Swimsuit award (if there is any). I love that Netherlands sent her after Kelly’s amazing performance last year.

7th Place: Philippines (Janine Tugonon)
Philippines

One of the most famous candidates this year, Janine has legion of fans and detractors. Me?!? You all know that she was not my favorite during Bb. Pilipinas 2012 and I still don’t like her. I can always say negatively BUT because of my respect for my country’s representative, I did shut up – ignoring her was probably the best act I did. I am putting her in my list not also because of my loyalty to my country but because she did excel during the preliminaries and I acknowledge how she transformed over the past few months. Her evening gown performance is her biggest hurdle. If she can overcome it then she will surely give the Philippines a Top 5 “Threepeat”.

6th Place: USA (Olivia Culpo)
USA

I declared it at the onset of the competition and fortunately, I still stand by my claim that she is the face of Miss Universe 2012. Her face is unforgettable! Such a classic face – you will be contented staring at her face all day long – yeah, that type of face! Her preliminary evening gown performance was horrific thus she went down from my Top 5.

Top 5

4th Runner-up: Venezuela (Irene Esser)
Venezuela

Some fans may criticize her for what they deem as some “inappropriate” behavior during the pageant BUT i say that she is just having fun. Her personality is what makes her unique. What I love about Irene is her ability to shift personalities – the quirky personality offstage, the temptress personality onstage and the classic beauty in pictures.

3rd Runner-up: South Africa (Melinda Bam)
South Africa

She is the most prepared delegate this year – probably the girl who wants the crown the most! I adore her for that. She is giving me this impression that Miss Universe is not just a competition for her, it’s war! Fortunately for her, she brought out the big guns – undeniably ethereal beauty, fierce attitude, excellent catwalk and banging sexy body! What turned me off her cold sometimes distant personality which is the reason why she has to settle in this position

2nd Runner-up: Puerto Rico (Bodine Koehler)
Puerto Rico

The girl who captured my heart the day I saw her!!! I am happy to see her compete. You know what made me happier?!? The fact that she did not touch her nose which for me is her lucky charm. Because of that quirky nose, she seems to me as the Imperfectly Perfect candidate. Let’s not discuss the body nor the walk because I can’t complain 😀

1st Runner-up: Ecuador (Carolina Aguirre)
Ecuador

She is my pre-arrival favorite! She is nothing but the ultimate barbie doll. Oh, how I adore her lips, so luscious that I want them for the holidays… Ecuador is improving their game in the Big 4 pageants. She is by far the strongest Miss Ecuador ever sent to Miss Universe!

Miss Universe 2012: France (Marie Payet)
France

Aaaaah! My personal favorite for the past two weeks. I can’t hardly contain my love for Marie! From the day she was declared as the 2nd runner-up of Miss France to the announcement that she will compete in Miss Universe to her rather safe pictures until her subdued yet topnotch preliminary performance, she seems destined for the crown! Win or lose, Marie proved to the whole world that perseverance is the key!!! I just love her!!!

There you go, after 3 gruesome hours! I hope you enjoy reading this post…

The best of luck to all the 89 candidates!!!

–Kattera–

LIKE my FB Fan Page HERE!

FOLLOW me on Twitter HERE!

This entry was posted in Aruba, Australia, Brazil, Cayman Islands, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, FaveList, Finland, France, Georgia, Jamaica, Kattera, Malaysia, Mexico, Miss Universe, Netherlands, Philippines, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Turkey, USA, Venezuela and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Write your thoughts here...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.